The President of the Republic of Ghana, Nana Akufo-Addo, has sworn into office 39 deputy ministers including three deputies for the West African nation’s Energy Ministry.

The three deputy Energy Ministers are Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, who also the MP for Karaga Constituency, William Owuraku Aidoo and MP for Afigya Kwabre South and Kofi Egyapa Mercer and MP for Secondi Constituency.

Dr Mohammed Amin served as Deputy Minister for Energy in charge of Petroleum during the first term of President Akufo-Addo while William Owuraku Aidoo served as Deputy Minister for Energy in charge of Power.

It is not clear whether the duo would be made to maintain their previous portfolios.

During the first term of the Akufo-Addo-administration, the Energy Ministry had three deputy ministerial portfolios namely Deputy Minister for Petroleum, Deputy Minister in charge of Power and Deputy Minister in charge of Finance and Infrastructure.

Addressing the deputy ministers after swearing them in, President Akufo-Addo reminded the deputy ministers of the impact of Covid-19 on global economy including Ghana and urged them to seize the opportunity offered them to work hard.

President Akufo-Addo cautioned them that he would not countenance any acts of disloyalty from them towards their Ministers.

“I will not countenance acts of disloyalty or subversion to your Minister, for I will take such act as disloyalty to me personally and to the state and to the party.

“I will want you to work with your Minister in all sincerity and transparency that is best guarantee of your individual success and our collective success,” he said.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *